Monday, October 6, 2014

Not Fade Away (Hell or High Water #3.5) by SE Jakes

An easy read. Mostly sexually oriented. Tom finds out that Prophet used to and have been going with Mal to BDSM clubs and he sort of gets jealous. I guess it's also about the fact that everyone is saying how "the same" Mal and Tom are. Prophet explains to Tom in words and in actions why they aren't that alike mainly in the fact that while Tom needs surrendering to someone he trusts what Mal on the other hand needs pain so it's better having someone he trusts (aka Prophet) there seeing that nothing is getting out of hand. 

I have a feeling that this short novella was mostly to get people interested in reading more of Mal and Cillian even though it was about Prophet and Tom. Which I understand but I would still rather have something more about Tom and Prophet especially when the series is nearing it's end and Mal and Cillian are going to have their own series and they DID have enough written time on the previous novels. 

There isn't a really "story line" here. It's mostly the sex and what it means to both of them. It was nice enough but I would rather have more plot line, something more to the story especially as I'm kinda bummed that the 4th and last book in the series "If I Ever" isn't out today as it was supposed. Jakes says on her Facebook page that it's going to be out either on November or December.. Another thing I'm bummed about is the fact that Jakes doesn't remind us what happened in previous installments which means I have to think of how to remind myself enough about all the details and all the side characters BEFORE the last book.

Additional Details: Kindle Ebook, 48 pages, 6 October 2014 / On GoodReads

Hell or High Water is a 4 book MM Romance series by SE JAKES telling us the romance between Elijah "Prophet" Drews (a former navy SEAL) and Tom Boudreaux (former FBI). As a new member of "EE" (Extreme Escapes Ltd. - A private contracting firm), Tom is partnered with Prophet who isn't into having a partner. From there you can guess what happens :) 

Each book has it's own story line / missions but there is a wider arc of story for all books. In the first book we learn more about Prophet (the case involve someone from his past) and the second gives us the background on Tom (taking place in where Tom grew up). The third build to the last novel and final confrontation of the wider story line. With the in-between novella mostly being about releasing sexual tension (which they do A LOT in this series which personally I'm less of a fan..). The fourth and last installment FINALLY deals with the big villain - Prophet's former best friend and SEAL team member John Morse ending this series with a bitter sweet note of everything that was lost, but enough that is still left to mend and heal. I can see Prophet and Tom living a long and happy life together. 

I like the series but don't LOVE it. I have a few issues with it. Firstly, you better remember all the small details and who's who and what's their agenda when you go through the series because there is hardly any explanation to things that happened in the previous books or in the past and were re-visited. Second issue is I feel this series has too many similarities in MC to the Cut & Run series by Abigail Roux. Prophet is too much of a Ty and Tom is too much of a Zane. I do feel like these two series ARE independent and there is a "place" for both of them and yet I have my misgivings sometimes. My third issue I mentioned above - there is WAY too much sex. While there's a good reason - them using sex to communicate emotionally - it was TOO DAMN MUCH for me. 

Free Falling (published 5 September 2012) ★★★★★
This is a standalone short novella telling us of Mitch and Blue, two EE Ltd. operatives. Their story line takes place before Hell or High Water. The both of them have their appearances in some of the next books but they bare no significant to the main story lines. 

Dirty Deeds (published 13 January 2014) ★★★
This is an intended as a spinoff. Currently it's only a short novella of Mal, former teammate of Prophet in charge of shadowing Cillian - Prophet's neighbor and a spook who Prophet suspects knows more than he's should about their business. This one takes place in the same time line as (and a bit after) the third book of "Hell of High Water". Honestly, did really like this one so I don't think I'll continue with this one whenever the next ones are published.

1. Catch a Ghost (published 13 September 2013) ★★★★
2. Long Time Gone (published 28 October 2013) ★★★★½
3. Daylight Again (published 5 May 2014) ★★★
3.5. Not Fade Away (published 14 August 2014) ★★★
4. If I Ever (published 21 January 2019) ★★★★ 


No comments:

Post a Comment