Thursday, July 31, 2014

At Graves' End (Night Huntress #3) by Jeaniene Frost

This was a real emotional ride!!! even though this is a re-read for me, and even though I kinda remember a lot of the details it was still hard to listen to.. I have to hand it to Cat she is one hellova woman. There is nothing she can't handle even if sometimes she does need a little encouragement. But prepared to be SHOCKED! 

In this book Cat has a one motherfucker strong enemy who is also aligned with Max (her father). Both of them wants her and Bones dead - permanently dead... In order to defeat this greater evil a very powerful alignment is made between Bones and Mencheres (even if at the time, Bones isn't sure what Mencheres end game is). Mencheres has his secrets, that for sure, but he was always a favorite in my eyes, even though he tend to act without explaining himself.. (can't wait for his book! chronologically it's after the forth Cat & Bones installment)

There is another supernatural upgrade to Cat's team besides Tate ( a very suitable one! :)) and more powerful vampires arrive to help the gang including two surprises - 
(1) Ian. Who I really love. When you get his "thing", get who he is, I think you can forgive him for right about anything. He isn't a BAD person, he is just a naughty one ;) Jeaniene promised a book about him, might be the third Night Huntress World novel.. I hope!! 
(2) Vlad. Yeah, THAT Vlad. Bones might dislike him but he and Cat become close and he and me, well, what can I say, I'm totally and absolutely IN LOVE with him. His series is my absolute favorite PNR/UF series (and it's not over YET! one more book for his trilogy will be published in January 2015). 

Let's talk Tate for a minute here. I wrote in my previous review that I have my problems with jealousy in these books. I don't know why but it just sounds childish. Sometimes I get the animalistic side to vampires, therefore accept this behavior but here it's simply stupidity. Cat and Bones are practically married, yet Tate explains to Cat he will keep telling her he loves her so she'll know he is always an option. SAY WHAT?! I get that if you hate someone's boyfriend you point out all his "disadvantages" but at some point it's just, well, stupid (and kinda lame too...). At least Cat didn't have any stupid jealousy act! She even got along with Annette and Ian. 

There's a new couple you'd LOVE to read about and also Laugh Out Loud. SO Loud the neighbors will come knocking on your door! :D :D :D

I have just one final thing to say while trying not to spoiler.. See who saves the day when there is no hope. I felt like throwing my hands over him and purr "my hero!", mmm not exactly, well, yeah, maybe, something like that :P

Another great installment in the series! Might be the best out of the three. 

Additional Details: Audiobook, 9:28 Hours, 29-31 July 2014 / On GoodReads
The Night Huntress is a great, action packed, funny and romantic Urban Fantasy Series by Jeaniene Frost. The Series follows Cat the half breed Vampire and Bones her Vampire lover. Together they fight humans as well as mythological creatures (like other Vampires, Ghouls, Ghosts and more). The Series contains a total of 7 full novels and one short novella finishing their story line. Besides these, there are also 2 more short novellas, one of Bones before he met Cat and another of the both of them with no real connection to the main plot line (published after the 4th novel). There is no significant to the series in reading these two. After the series was finished another book was published - Outtakes from the Grave containing a "Director's Cut" of deleted scenes and alternate versions. 

There are a few more outside novels listed as "Night Huntress World". Two short novellas of outside characters (Happily Ever After & Devil to Pay) with no significant or relevant to the Night Huntress series as well as two full length novels of Charles and Denise - First Drop of Crimson / Mencheres and Kira - Eternal Kiss of Darkness. I inserted those books in the right reading / publishing order in the list bellow. Even though you don't have to read them to understand Cat and Bones' series, the two full length novels explain how the two couples came together and mind you, both of them are GREAT! :) They have a different feel to them since they have alternation POV of the MC and also, naturally they are not Cat and Bones, yet it is in their world and there are "guest appearances" of our favorite characters. 

There are two spin-off series to the Night Huntress World. First "Night Princeof Vlad the Impaler finding his HEA with Kira which is currently my absolutely FAVORITE PNR / UF books! Second is "Night Rebel" of Ian and Veritas these are superb as well! While these two sub-series can totally be read as "stand alone" series, just bare in mind, characters from all over the Night Huntress World at times make an appearance. I don't think it's necessary to read them if you don't feel like it though.  

I really recommend this series to all PNR and UF lovers. Though Cat CAN be a overly stubborn and sometimes childish she is one hell of a Grim Reaper (with red hair :)). She kicks ass, and it's always fun reading of a strong woman who can handle her opponents as well as hold her liquor. I enjoyed the extra "Night Huntress World" novellas but mostly loved the two full length novels of Cat and Bone's friends as well as Ian and Veritas' spin-off. The absolute joy, the cream and the cherry as well as the chocolate cake and banana muffins are the Night Prince novels. MY GOD I don't know how I lived before reading them..
-- Reckoning (Short- Bones) (published 29 November 2011) ★★★½
1. Halfway to the Grave
(published 30 October 2007) ★★★★½
-- Happily Ever After (Short- Chance & Isa)
(published 19 July 2011) ★★★★★
2. One Foot in the Grave (published 29 April 2008) ★★★★½
3. At Grave's End
(published 1 January 2009) ★★★★★
-- Devil to Pay (Short- Mencheres, Elis & Blake)
(published 23 August 2011) ★★★★★
4. Destined for an Early Grave
 (+ deleted alternate sub plot August 2014) (published 28 July 2009) ★★★★½
4.5 Magic Graves: One for the Money (published 1 September 2011) ★★★
-- NH World 1. First Drop of Crimson (Charles & Denise) (published 9 February 2010) ★★★★★
-- NH World 2. Eternal Kiss of Darkness (Mencheres & Kira)
(published 27 July 2010) ★★★★★
5. This Side Of The Grave
(published 22 February 2011) ★★★½
6. One Grave at a Time
(published 30 August 2011) ★★ 
[ Night Prince 1 + 2 ]
6.5 Home for the Holidays
(published 5 November 2013) ★★★★★
7. Up From the Grave
(published 28 January 2014) ★★★½
7.5 Outtakes from the Grave (published 22 December 2015)
[ Night Prince 3 + 4-> Night Rebel Series ] 


No comments:

Post a Comment