My Menu

Search This Blog

Sookie Stackhouse - Charlaine Harris

"Sookie Stackhouse" or "The Southern Vampire Mysteries" is an Urban Fantasy series by Charlaine Harris. The Series contain 13 full novels and finished with a novella telling what came next for each character. 

The series tells the story of Sookie Stackhouse a human barmaid who can read minds. A little after "the vampires came out of their coffins" (hardy har har) and become known to the world (as a result of an invention of synthetic blood enabling them not to need HUMAN sustenance) Sookie meets Vampire Bill Compton and is really surprised and delighted to find out she CAN'T hear his thoughts! As it seems she can't read Vampires minds at all!! GREAT! 

From here on, her connection to the vampire world and politics of it only grows and a lot more interesting vampires and other creatures (werewolves, shapeshifters, fairies etc) are also introduced to her (and us) while each book has a certain mystery that she and the ones around her are involved in. This girl doesn't have a dull moment in her life! :D

This started as a great series but sadly, as the series progressed, and as "True Blood" the TV adaptation drew attention from the audience as well as from the author, the book series changed. Mostly the characters changed and started "playing out of character", in a way, more in sync with the characters they were played in the TV show and less as they used to be in the previous books. 

Since I didn't enjoy the last books in the series, I feel strange recommending it, yet, I somehow DO recommend it since I loved loved loved the character of Eric Northman and loved how this series started, up until book 4 FOR SURE it's HIGHLY recommended, from there on, things started to get, well, uncertain and deteriorate until I was just confused with how the characters where behaving and where the author took this series. At the end I just felt I'm not even sure why I read it or what was the point of it all :( 

I've read and then listened to this series a while ago so I don't have review of each one of the novels (only the last final closing novella). 

1. Dead Until Dark (published 1 January 2001)
2. Living Dead in Dallas (published 26 March 2001)
3. Club Dead (published 29 April 2003)
4. Dead to the World (published 3 May 2004)
5. Dead as a Doornail (published 3 May 2005)
6. Definitely Dead (published 2 May 2006)
7. All Together Dead (published 1 January 2007)
8. From Dead to Worst (published 6 May 2008)
9. Dead and Gone (published 5 May 2009)
10. Dead in the Family (published 4 May 2010)
11. Dead Reckoning (published 3 March 2011)
12. Deadlocked (published 1 May 2012)
13. Dead Ever After (published 7 May 2013)
13.5 After Dead: What Comes Next in the World of Sookie Stackhouse (published 29 October 2013) ½ ★

No comments:

Post a Comment