My Menu

Search This Blog

Night Huntress World - Jeaniene Frost

The Night Huntress is a great, action packed, funny and romantic Urban Fantasy Series by Jeaniene Frost. The Series follows Cat the half breed Vampire and Bones her Vampire lover. Together they fight humans as well as mythological creatures (like other Vampires, Ghouls, Ghosts and more). The Series contains a total of 7 full novels and one short novella finishing their story line. Besides these, there are also 2 more short novellas, one of Bones before he met Cat and another of the both of them with no real connection to the main plot line (published after the 4th novel). There is no significant to the series in reading these two. After the series was finished another book was published - Outtakes from the Grave containing a "Director's Cut" of deleted scenes and alternate versions. 

There are a few more outside novels listed as "Night Huntress World". Two short novellas of outside characters (Happily Ever After & Devil to Pay) with no significant or relevant to the Night Huntress series as well as two full length novels of Charles and Denise (First Drop of Crimson) / Mencheres and Kira (Eternal Kiss of Darkness). I inserted those books in the right reading / publishing order in the list bellow. Even though you don't have to read them to understand Cat and Bones' series, the two full length novels explain how the two couples came together and mind you, both of them are GREAT! :) They have a different feel to them since they have alternation POV of the MC and also, naturally they are not Cat and Bones, yet it is in their world and there are "guest appearances" of our favorite characters. 

There is also a spin off trilogy called "Night Princeof Vlad the Impaler . Vlad came into my live and I never want him to leave... Right now, these books, telling us his and Leila's story are my absolute favorite PNR / UF books. Vlad, for sure, is my absolute favorite male character in a PNR series. In one word YUM! His and Leila's story takes place close to the ending of the Night Huntress series. There are double appearance of Vlad & Leila in the Night Huntress and Cat & Bones in the Night Prince so if you wanna do it "right" stick to the reading order listed bellow. You COULD read the Night Prince before the Night Huntress series, you'll just be introduced to Cat & Bones there.. 

There are four books in this series. The first book starts before Leila and Vlad actually meet and follow the build up of their relationship. Leila is a lot more than a "common average human" and they truly find in each other their match. 
Throughout the books they try together to best Vlad's long lost nemesis - Szilagyi Mihaly - who have been plotting against Vlad for YEARS, gathering strength, power and allies to be able to FINALLY get rid of him. Yet we are talking about Vlad freaking Tepesh, it's obvious how it's going to end - death and destruction, and a lot of it by fire! :) OH JOY! 

The final page in the Night Prince series brings us a VERY exciting news! There is another spin-off! "Night Rebel". FINALLY Ian is getting more than "his book" - his own series, not only that, the strong vampire at his side - Veritas - is also a mystery I'd LOVE to uncover. First novel started with a BLAST! LOVED it! The second I enjoyed though I wanted to punch Veritas too many times to count. The 3rd will be out near the end of 2020. Will it be the last we hear from the Night Huntress World?  

I really recommend this series to all PNR and UF lovers. Though Cat CAN be a overly stubborn and sometimes childish she is one hell of a Grim Reaper (with red hair :)). She kicks ass, and it's always fun reading of a strong woman who can handle her opponents as well as hold her liquor. I enjoyed the extra "Night Huntress World" novellas but mostly loved the two full length novels of Cat and Bone's friends though the absolute joy, the cream and the cherry as well as the chocolate cake and banana muffins are the Night Prince novels. MY GOD I don't know how I lived before reading them.. LONG LIVE (sort of) THE IMPALER! and his amazing wife!

-- Reckoning (Short- Bones)     
    (published 29 November 2011) ★ ★ ★ ½
1. Halfway to the Grave

   (published 30 October 2007) ★ ★ ★ ★ ½

-- Happily Ever After (Short- Chance & Isa)

    (published 19 July 2011) ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

2. One Foot in the Grave
    (published 29 April 2008) ★ ★ ★ ★ ½

3. At Grave's End

    (published 1 January 2009) ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

-- Devil to Pay (Short- Mencheres, Elis & Blake)

    (published 23 August 2011) ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

4. Destined for an Early Grave
 (+ deleted alternate sub plot August 2014)
    (published 28 July 2009) ★ ★ ★ ★ ½

4.5 Magic Graves: One for the Money 
    (published 1 September 2011) ★ ★ ★

-- NH World 1. First Drop of Crimson (Charles & Denise)
    (published 9 February 2010) ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

-- NH World 2. Eternal Kiss of Darkness (Mencheres & Kira)

    (published 27 July 2010) ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

5. This Side Of The Grave

    (published 22 February 2011) ★ ★ ★ ½

6. One Grave at a Time

    (published 30 August 2011) ★ ★ 

Night Prince 1. Once Burned
    (published 26 June 2012) ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Night Prince 2. 
Twice Tempted 
    (published 26 March 2013) ★ ★ ★ ★ ★
6.5 Home for the Holidays 

    (published 5 November 2013) ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

7. Up From the Grave 

    (published 28 January 2014) ★ ★ ★ ½

7.5 Outtakes from the Grave
    (published 22 December 2015)
Night Prince 3.  Bound by Flames    
    (published 27 January 2015)
 ★ ★ ★ ★ ★
Night Prince 4.  Into the Fire     
    (published 28 February 2017) ★ ★ ★ ★ ★
Night Rebel 1. Shades of Wicked 
   (published 30 October 2018) ★ ★ ★ ★ ★
Night Rebel 2. Wicked Bite 
   (published 28 January 2020) ★ ★ ★ ★
Night Rebel 3. Wicked All Night
   (to be published 24 November 2020) 

No comments:

Post a Comment