My Menu

Search This Blog

EE Ltd. Universe - SE Jakes

EE Ltd. (Extreme Escapes Ltd.) is a private contracting firm. The company basically pay agents that are ex military / government (FBI/CIA) for special operations that couldn't be done by the government. Sometimes they are even contracted BY the government. This is were the MC in the series work.

Free Falling is a standalone short novella telling us of Mitch and Blue, two EE Ltd. operatives. Their story line takes place before Hell or High Water. The both of them have their appearances in some of the next books in the EE Ltd. World but they bare no significant to the main story lines. 

Free Falling (published 5 September 2012) ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ 

Hell or High Water is a 4 book MM Romance series by SE JAKES telling us the romance between Elijah "Prophet" Drews (a former navy SEAL) and Tom Boudreaux (former FBI). As a new member of EE, Tom is partnered with Prophet who isn't into having a partner. From there you can guess what happens :) 

Each book has it's own story line / missions but there is a wider arc of story for all books. In the first book we learn more about Prophet (the case involve someone from his past) and the second gives us the background on Tom (taking place in where Tom grew up). The third build to the last novel and final confrontation of the wider story line. With the in-between novella mostly being about releasing sexual tension (which they do A LOT in this series which personally I'm less of a fan..). The fourth and last installment FINALLY deals with the big villain - Prophet's former best friend and SEAL team member John Morse ending this series with a bitter sweet note of everything that was lost, but enough that is still left to mend and heal. I can see Prophet and Tom living a long and happy life together. 

I like the series but don't LOVE it. I have a few issues with it. Firstly, you better remember all the small details and who's who and what's their agenda when you go through the series because there is hardly any explanation to things that happened in the previous books or in the past and were re-visited. Second issue is I feel this series has too many similarities in MC to the Cut & Run series by Abigail Roux. Prophet is too much of a Ty and Tom is too much of a Zane. I do feel like these two series ARE independent and there is a "place" for both of them and yet I have my misgivings sometimes. My third issue I mentioned above - there is WAY too much sex. While there's a good reason - them using sex to communicate emotionally - it was TOO DAMN MUCH for me. 

Hell or High Water Books:
1. Catch a Ghost (published 13 September 2013) ★ ★ ★ ★
2. Long Time Gone (published 28 October 2013) ★ ★ ★ ★ ½
3. Daylight Again (published 5 May 2014) ★ ★ ★ 
3.5. Not Fade Away (published 14 August 2014) ★ ★ ★
4. If I Ever (published 21 January 2019) ★ ★ ★ ★

Dirty Deeds is a spin-off series to Hell or High Water, telling us of Mal, former teammate of Prophet in charge of shadowing Cillian - Prophet's neighbor and a spook who Prophet suspects knows more than he's should about their business. The first book (novella length) takes place in the same time line as (and a bit after) the third book of "Hell of High Water". With the way the last installment of "Hell or High Water" ended I can see what Cillian and Mal's big mission is going to be, question is, when is Jakes planning on releasing it...I haven't decided yet if I want to continue on with Mal and Cillian's story-line. I wasn't a fan of the first one and I think that though I enjoyed "Hell or High Water" I've had enough misgiving about it so.. well.. we'll see..  

Dirty Deeds books:
1. Dirty Deeds (published 13 January 2014) ★ ★ ★

No comments:

Post a Comment